This content has been restricted to logged in users only. Please login to view this content.

Programme to include:

Handel Concerto Grosso

Rutter Suite for Strings

Dvorak Two Waltzes op.130

Elgar Serenade for Strings op.20

Sibelius Romance in C op. 42

Vivaldi Winter from the 4 Seasons (Soloist Vickie Lee)

Based in Worcestershire, Volante Strings was formed in 1999 by Megan Webb and the late Angela Richey. Angela led the orchestra and was passionate in her championing of string music. The group generally play chamber style without a conductor which means working very closely with each other in rehearsal in order to achieve a high standard of concert performance. The programmes encompass a varied and challenging range of styles, from classical, through contemporary to light and our repertoire covers music from as far back as the sixteenth century right up to the present day. The name, Volante, means “fast and light” and comes from the Italian word for flying. It is used to describe a particular style of bowing, but the group have also flown in other ways – concert tours have taken the strings four times to Greece and more recently to Ostend and Bruges.